Houzz Logo Print
emmelinewe

POLL: New build or old timer?

Emmeline Westin
hace 10 años
última modificación:hace 10 años
New builds are often criticised for being too small or lacking soul, whereas older properties can be draughty and not adapted to modern living. On the other hand, older properties can have beautiful period features, and new builds are well insulated.

If you were to choose, what would you prefer? Would you rather live in a new-build or in a historical property?

Private Home in Chiswick, London · Más información
New-build
Old timer

Comentarios (19)

• PRO
    Cure Design Group
    hace 10 años
    I like the character and history of an old home, however that is something to be said for building exactly what you dream of...
  • PRO
    Patricia Colwell Consulting
    hace 10 años
    I love a house with history I am a designer that for years told my clients the joy of renovating and I still believe in that.
  • Emmeline Westin
    Autor original
    hace 10 años
    I guess you live in a period property then, Patricia?
  • PRO
    Thos. Baker
    hace 10 años
    Love the charm of older homes and always glad to see them beautifully maintained or lovingly restored. But once you go new, it's hard to go back. It feels good knowing what's behind the sheet rock, under the sub-floor and all the other hidden areas!

Christi, on behalf of Thos. Baker
  • designideas4me
    hace 10 años
    The new houses where I live are amazing. Why would I want to live with a period feature? I finally got rid of that issue and am in menapause now.
  • Rina
    hace 9 años
    I think I have a vague memory possibly of something from Anne of Green Gables -- that a house is not a home until someone has been born there, someone has married there, and someone has died there. I'm childishly attached to that thought. And I love so many past periods of design.

However, can one afford to maintain the old? And modern can be beautiful. But how good was the builder?
  • PRO