ellabeaner

Please help! Hideous bathroom!

Jessica
hace 10 años
I seriously need your help. I don't even know where to begin with this bathroom. We just purchased and moved into a new to us house and the bathroom gives me nightmares. Red and green paint. Butterfly wallpaper....ahh! This is our first home and my first opportunity to design and do whatever I want. I am overwhelmed, please help! What do you think would look good? It is a very small room with no natural light and very minimal lighting currently....I want it to be warm, inviting and comfortable and also appear larger. I'm so new at this, total newbie.

Please don't mind the mess. Just moved in and have two very small children.

Comentarios (25)

• yoboseiyo
    hace 10 años
    get rid of the red.
    that green and even the wall paper isn't so bad.

i would paint the cabinet an antique white, and the counter i would either replace totally, or paint it to match the sink.
  • mfwolfe
    hace 10 años
    Is this a half bath. If it is I see no reason to have a vanity that big. A simple pedestal sink would be fine. Then paint the room all one color. A pair of sconces on either side of the mirror would make a more comfortable light.
  • Jessica
    Autor original
    hace 10 años
    It is a very small full bath. The tub is directly across from the toilet.
  • saratogaswizzlestick
    hace 10 años
    The good news is that anything you do is bound to look better then it does now. First I would strip down the wallpaper. Is that a wood counter that runs up the wall? I would also remove the medicine cabinet. If budget allows replace vanity. If not paint it white and get a Formica counter. Get a pretty, framed mirror to hang over the sink. Pick a nice color that goes with the floor. I would go with a light color. Before you paint pull electrical over so you can have sconces flank the mirror. You floor looks neutral and in good shape so that is a plus. As a finishing touch a painting.
  • lisanash