Houzz Logo Print
longbranchstitch

Help with landscaping ideas, please!!

Longbranchstitch
hace 11 meses

We just had our house painted (hooray!!) and will be working on landscaping next. We live in Zone 5/6, northern Idaho. Current landscaping has not been cared for over the past ten+ years and hope to get some ideas here. We love evergreen trees and shrubs, grasses, with perennial flowers mixed in. A plus for deer resistant recommendations. Many thanks for your ideas!!

Comentarios (15)

• Rachel McNeely
    hace 11 meses

Black mulch! It really pops. We just upgraded our mulch with black and it’s a game-changer.

• Longbranchstitch
    Autor original
    hace 11 meses

Black mulch is in the plan. Should have mentioned we are getting rid of all the wood chips currently in the beds. Trying to add another picture where the lighting is better, but Houzz is being difficult.

• HU-187528210
    hace 11 meses

Your house is beautiful!! So welcoming!
    I’m no landscape expert…. I think I’d do boxwoods in the back. Two rows. Along the front of the house.

A big planter on each side of the steps.

And maybe flowers in front of the boxwoods.

Replace the trees on the sides for something less short and stout. Lol.

Black mulch yes! 💖💖

Beautiful beautiful!

• tracefloyd
    hace 11 meses
    Última modificación: hace 11 meses

Two words: Russian Sage. Beautiful blue flowers (perennial) and deer proof. Create some free-form planting beds to replace some lawn areas and also near the front door. You local nursery will have plants for your Zone and for deer. This is an easy DIY method. Have fun. Use rock and stepping stones, too.

Here is a link for inspo photos.

https://www.houzz.com/photos/query/planting-russian-sage

BSR Project Revisited 8 months later. By Sifford Garden Design · Más información

Half Way, OR: Pat & Patti Walker · Más información

Stone Steps · Más información

• PRO
    RL Relocation LLC
    hace 11 meses