webuser_804489537

Dining table upgrade help

Roscoe
hace 4 años

Hoping for a little help on the distressed brown dining table.

I’m a complete novice at type of thing. I’m not sure if I need to rub it down, paint with a stain or a primer or what?

So what do I need to do to change the colour so that it fits with our newly fitted kitchen which is white gloss and concrete grey?

Should we go for a white top and grey legs or grey all over. Should we use a chalk paint? I have no idea.

Comentarios (16)

• arc3d
    hace 4 años

Exactly what you said. Rub it down, light sanding, prime and paint. Also a light sanding between coats. Lots of video tutorials online for painting furniture.

As for the colour it depends on rest of the room. It looks like you already have a lot of grey so maybe white would be better?

• E D
    hace 4 años
    Última modificación: hace 4 años

I agree with kwg, change the chairs instead.

Although we can’t see your entire kitchen, the wooden table as is looks good and may wall provide some contrast and ‘warmth‘.

• Kittihawke
    hace 4 años

I agree with kwg kwg and ED the wood looks good with the grey, giving warmth to it. Grey can look a little flat and lifeless, even with white for relief.

• ali270
    hace 4 años

Agree with previous comments....leave table , change chairs . Something more kitchen friendly and to give a pop of colour. Perhaps even each chair a different colour. IKEA have some great kitchen chairs . Really like the cabinet colours .

• Roscoe
    Autor original
    hace 4 años

Appreciate all the comments but the brown looks a little out of place in a lot of White and grey.

Was wondering because it’s a dining table does it need varnished or stained or will any old would paint work?

Or perhaps a chalk paint is required. We’re really not sure.

• Jonathan
    hace 4 años