Houzz Logo Print
martha_humphries

Advice with backyard

Martha Humphries
hace 6 años

I'd like to get some help with my backyard. I think it used to be really nice at one point, but renters lived here before me and I'm not that good at landscaping. I really like the bamboo, but know I need to tame it. I don't get very much sun because there are large trees in my front and back yard as well as in my neighbors yards. I've taken three pictures to give you an idea of what it is like. I'd welcome any ideas. I live in Dallas, Texas. My neighborhood is very eclectic and I like the eclectic feel. Thanks, Martha

Comentarios (14)

• apple_pie_order
    hace 6 años

Do you have a budget range in mind for this phase? Are the decorative objects, chairs etc. your choices or inherited from the renters?

Martha Humphries agradeció a apple_pie_order
  • NHBabs z4b-5a NH
    hace 6 años
    Última modificación: hace 6 años

In order to make constructive suggestions, a better idea of how you want to use the yard would be helpful.

What is currently there that you like or would want to keep and what would you prefer to not have: (deck? fire pit? hedge or vine-covered fence? various trees and other plants? etc.)

Think about your wishes and needs. For instance, how do you plan to use the yard? Do you have kids that want to kick around a soccer ball? Do you host large or small parties and have need for seating and space for folks to walk around? Do you have time to spend in gardening or would you prefer having something low maintenance? Would you like a paved patio or a hot tub? Do you need to add or access storage? Is it just somewhere to sit and relax?

Martha Humphries agradeció a NHBabs z4b-5a NH
  • PRO
    Cascio Associates - Site Planning - Landscape Arch
    hace 6 años

Martha: NHB says it clearly. Start with a wishlist from each member of the household - no wish to be omitted from the collection - all to find their way to the master plan.