Houzz Logo Print
knob_lydia

Quartzite stains

Lydia knoblock
hace 7 años

Hi everyone I'm new to this kitchen remodel thing and I am struggling with countertop, I want quartz but have looked at so many different colors and brands and I'm not finding one that's white with a lot of gray in it. I found this quartzite at a local countertop fabricator it's called Ocean Shore, they provided me with a sample, I was expressing my concerns about stains so he sealed the sample it and sent me home with it. After 20 minutes of testing various foods I noticed the orange juice, soda, and lemon all left marks. Is their any way we can prevent this from happening after install? So far the mustard, BBQ sauce and ketchup have not left a mark yet? Would this real quartzite, I've heard real quartzite shouldn't leave any marks, when I asked him for more info about it he said it was polished not honed and it's both soft and hard quartzite. Any other questions I should ask to ensure I don't get screwed?

Thank you

Comentarios (23)

• smitrovich
    hace 7 años

Quartz is better for resisting staining and etching.

• PRO
    Tali Hardonag Architect
    hace 7 años

Or you can go to a manufactured material -( will not stain)

e.g. Dekton. http://www.dekton.com/usa/colors/kairos

• PRO
    Joseph Corlett, LLC
    hace 7 años

"Is their any way we can prevent this from happening after install?"

No. None. I don't care if the stone salesman signs in the blood of his first born male child.

You'll soon be able to buy marble from Antolini that will etch in hours instead of instantly though. It doesn't come in a can, it's proprietary, and Italy is a long way aways.

• PRO
    Beth H. :
    hace 7 años
    Última modificación: hace 7 años