Houzz Logo Print
desertjen

Help working within an ugly kitchen and limited options

desertjen
hace 7 años

Hi all! I'm new to Houzz! My name is Jen and I'd love your help!

I need to update this kitchen a little bit. I cannot change the floors and the only counters I can install is an in-stock laminate carried at either Home Depot or Lowes. Those choices in my area are Wilsonart Milano Amber, Formica Ouro Romano, Wilsonart Ink Vesta, or Wilsonart Tumbled Roca. I did order a new single bowl stainless steel sink and chrome pull down faucet. I ordered stainless appliances and will hang an OTR stainless microwave. I also took down the ugly light fixture and ordered a nice chrome chandelier and chrome door pulls. I intend to paint the cabinets and the walls. I'd appreciate any advice on what to do with my constraints!

I'm leaning toward Ouro Romano, but then what do I do with paint? Or would you make a different suggestion?

The first photo is the kitchen obviously. We have since rehung the cabinet doors. I included a different photo but I don't have another of clear counters (the house is long distance from me).

Existing tile. Not changeable :(

Existing laminate

Cabinet Pulls

Sink

Faucet

Chandelier

Ouro Romano

Amber Milano

Thank you so much for any input you can provide me!

Comentarios (20)

• desertjen
    Autor original
    hace 7 años

OP here. Here are the sample chips on top of a piece of the tile.

Milano Amber

Ouro Romano

Ink Vesta

• emmarene9
    hace 7 años

I think you should choose a cabinet color based on the color of the floor. Only then should you choose the countertop. The current countertop is really not that bad. I like the simplicity of your cabinets and they will be nice after they are painted.

• M
    hace 7 años
    What color were you thinking of painting the cabinets? If you stay with the current wood tone then I'd paint the walls a warm green tone. Green and wood look beautiful in the kitchen (in my opinion
  • desertjen