Houzz Logo Print
edubya

Most Durable Couch Fabric?

Emily H
hace 10 años
When you have pets, kids, and potentially careless housemates, what is the best fabric to choose for an upholstered couch?

Share your experience! (photos encouraged)

https://www.houzz.com/photos/55-central-park-west-transitional-living-room-new-york-phvw-vp~5089903

Comentarios (90)

• sscovanner
    hace 9 años
    Outré! Where are you located in Indiana? Close to Cincinnati perhaps?? In the market for a sofa/sectional.
  • User
    hace 9 años
    @nnigrt....
    The solution to kitty claws..my cat is fine with his. Because he is a very manly cat (cough), his are rockstar black and gold glitter instead of pinks or whatever...
  • PRO
    User
    hace 9 años
    This outdoor canvas is a favorite for pets and heavy duty use in family rooms. I've been making slipcovers for over 25 years, and the Outdoor Canvas we carry on our website has a 60,000 rub rating and goes through the washer like a champ. Little to no fading, and the smooth texture is much less interesting to cats. Pet fur brushes off easily, stains don't soak in well. It has a really nice feel to it, crisp and close to a cotton canvas. You don't put it in the dryer. It comes in a ton of colors.

We also have a new fabric design called Ireland Tweed, which we'll be adding in a lot more colors. It washes great, can look modern or cottage-y, even dressy depending on how it's tailored.

My other workhorse fabric for a family room is a heavy ticking stripe, the pinstripe is more forgiving of smudges than a flat solid.

For some pattern and texture, our Fiji Palm frond woven fabric is casual and pretty kid and dog friendly, it has a Mattelasse texture and will hide lots of living. It will be too tempting for cats, but it's great for a home with large dogs.