Houzz Logo Print
lilion

Need ideas for curb appeal!

hace 10 años
We are thinking of selling our house and so it's time to get some things done. First and foremost, we plan on doing some repairs and having the house painted as soon as the weather gets warmer, so we'll be getting bids soon. The house is currently this awful tan color I have wanted to paint for years. The shutters are green, in case you have trouble telling from the photo, as are the double front doors. I know I need to replace the stairway railing in order to come up to code.

I had thought of painting the house a pale yellow butter color, leaving the doors and shutters green. I don't really want to change the door color...but I might. It's fairly impossible to tell from the photos, but the trim around the windows are arches, I'll attach a drawing of it, but I'm no artist. I know it needs some plantings...we took out the bushes in the front and I've thought of putting some large urns on the river rock that fill the area around the basement windows. The planters on the landing are very old and I need to replace them with something.

The lights all are the same style, but the ones on the house have seen better days...since they are identical, I'd thought to see if I could paint them white to match the new one between the garage doors. The glass doors have seen better days, but we don't have the money to replace them...I'd like to see if I couldn't paint the metal frames as well, but don't know what, if anything, to use.

Any ideas on paint and decorating are welcome.

Comentarios (25)

• hace 10 años
    It is somewhat colonial... Green would accent the brick

http://houzz.com/photos/43212
    lilion agradeció a Shauna Cowley Filtz
  • hace 10 años
    Here are some closer photos, showing a bit of the brick work and the horrible paint as well as the window detail. We have someone coming to give us a bid on fixing the stairs, which are settling. Again, any suggestions are welcome.

[houzz=