Houzz Logo Print
stephjdavis

Why is this kitchen so ugly?

stephjdavis
hace 10 años
My kitchen is ugly. There's no way around it. No mincing words, no playing nice: this is one bad kitchen. Its unique features include 3 different shades of wood, one from a light laminate wood countertop, and a general lack of architectural interest. It once featured a wavy pelmet that has been unceremoniously discarded.

What can I do to make it less ugly? Everyone on these forums have gorgeous kitchens! How did you accomplish this? Did I miss some sort of "how to have a picture perfect kitchen" class?

I've never done a kitchen remodel before, so I have no idea where to start. Also, budget is an issue, so for now whatever suggestions have to live with the light wood laminate counters.

Comentarios (116)

• Andrea D.
    hace 10 años
    I had a light like that in my kitchen. I thought I was going to have a huge rectangle mark on my ceiling after but I didnt. Paid $40 for a new one and kind of took it out of 1985 but then had professionals paint it for $1200 which was a steal considering taking down cabinets and replacing meant $20,000 on the cheap end. If you have patience, you can do a little at a time until it is done.
  • Catherine Giesige
    hace 10 años
    Once you change the lighting I would pop the dated 4" strip off the backsplash and tile it all in a neutral colour. You could then accessorise in the colour of your choosing. If the budget allows add some brushed nickel or stainless cabinet hardware. I also agree that some molding around the soffit painted white along with the ceiling would give a nice finish. Do you have any space near the fridge or a walk in pantry where you could place the microwave? An island would look nice but would not be a practical place to put the microwave unless you can bring some power up through the floor.
  • celestial
    hace 10 años