Houzz Logo Print
brooksdeb2

Help! Should I paint my built-ins and mantle or keep the stain?

brooksdeb2
hace 4 años

I have repainted my house to lighten things up but am getting conflicting ideas about what to do in my living room with my built in cabinetry and mantle. Keep it the wood stain or paint it white? Also I have a wood burning fireplace insert that has a rather large black surround that I don't like. Should I paint that also?

My house is open so I am attaching pictures that shows the flow from my living room and kitchen. The kitchen cabinets are the same cherry and the living room.

I have done what I know to do to lighten the living room up - glass shelves with lighting, but it still is not working. Should I commit to painting these cherry cabinets? What to do about the fireplace surround?

I am not good at visualizing how things will look and know that if I paint them, there is no going back without a lot of expense.

Any ideas are appreciated. Thanks so much!!

Comentarios (34)

• jck910
    hace 4 años

Do you love the built ins? To me they are overwhelming. Have you thought of removing them?

brooksdeb2 agradeció a jck910
  • groveraxle
    hace 4 años

I'm not sure exactly what your goal is here. To me, the built ins look like a perfect bookend to the kitchen with your dining table bridging the gap. I also like that the TV disappears into the cabinetry now. I probably would not paint it.

What I do notice is an awful lot of stuff right at the ceiling--two fans and a chandelier with crystal drops--that seem a little clutter-y. I might simplify those, even eliminate the fans if you don't need them, to lighten things up a little bit.

• Jennifer Hogan
    hace 4 años

I would not paint. They work with the kitchen.

brooksdeb2 agradeció a Jennifer Hogan
  • User
    hace 4 años
    Última modificación: hace 4 años