Houzz Logo Print
henry_kuska

Lafter - a rose you may want to consider growing.

henry_kuska
hace 5 años
última modificación:hace 5 años

I have no personal experience with this rose; but if I was younger, I would be trying it.

http://rosebreeders.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=56027

http://www.helpmefind.com/rose/l.php?l=2.3725&tab=1

Comentarios (19)

• PRO
    Hummingbird Roses
    hace 5 años

I grow it, and it's a beauty for sure. I love the name too!

• lkayetwvz5
    hace 5 años

Caldwell Pink also RRD resistant! Need to search this one also.....

• lkayetwvz5
    hace 5 años

I searched Caldwell Pink last night and came up with an anomaly - Caldwell Pink or Pink Pet, one is listed as a polyantha and the climbing Pink Pet is listed as a climbing china?

vaporvac - do you know which yours is and where it came from?

• Vaporvac Z6-OhioRiverValley
    hace 5 años

There's discussion on provenance, but I believe they are all the same rose (unless it climbs) I didn't know there's a climber as I'd love one. Oddly enough, 2 of mine were cuttings probably from Chamblees or one of the old rose nurseries and the grafted one came from Menard's as Caldwell Pink.

• lkayetwvz5
    hace 5 años

Apparently ARS reclassified Pink Pet/Caldwell Pink from a polyantha to a china. Rogue Valley Roses is growing both Climbing Pink Pet and Climbing Caldwell Pink. He states that he is comparing the two to see if there is a difference. His info or cuttings on his roses came from Ashdown. Either way all references say hardy to zone 6 at best, more like 7, so not here.

• barbarag_happy
    hace 5 años

Caldwell Pink is widely used in landscaping in Texas; in habit it is like a polyanthus so its interesting to hear it has been reclassified by ARS. It is slow to come out of dormancy in the spring-- one of the last to bloom in my garden of teas and chinas, so I'm to surprised to hear that it is so cold-hardy.