Houzz Logo Print
jeff_polk6897699

Home Buying Question

Ok so I'm a new graduate nursing student and have accepted a position at a hospital in metropolitan area. I started looking at houses in the area and decided to use a lender that my real estate agent suggested. She asked me what I thought my annual earnings would be and ran a credit check and told me I was pre-approved and could make an offer on a home. So I made an offer on a home in the area. This was in October and we decided to make the closing in December since I was graduating school then. Anyway, since that time my lender has harassed me for all kinds of documentation and so on and now has said that she is having trouble getting me approved for a loan and I even had to arrange for 20% down after she told me initially I'd only have to put 4-5% down, which has put me in a financial bind. I am still currently trying to get the house but we had to push back the closing date and the seller is getting upset and has already deleted the home warranty from the contract they initially agreed upon. My question is this? If I say forget the whole thing and back out now, am I obligated to pay the lender for their time? I feel like this mess is because of their advice to begin with.

Thanks!

Comentarios (30)

• sushipup1
    hace 7 años

In order to get a home loan, the lender does require a ton of documentation. When you first get pre-approved, it means very little. but when you get a contract on a house, you have to provide the lender with everything, as well as a copy of the contract. Then the actaul loan can get processed with a locked-in interest rate. Rates have gone up a fair amount in the last two months. If you have not been cooperative, then your interest rate lock has dissolved and you will have to qualify all over again.

• C Marlin
    hace 7 años

No you will not need to pay the lender any money.

• PRO
    Anglophilia
    hace 7 años