Houzz Logo Print
monkiee32

Rug too big?

Edwin L
hace 8 años

Please bear with me as I'm by no means a designer and this is my first house. My living room is oddly shaped so the couch cannot go any further back or forward. The couch is 8' wide and the rug is 8'x10'. Is the rug too big for the space and would 6'x 9' work better? If not, should I pull the rug forward so that the media console is sitting on top of it? Any design tips is appreciated. I do plan on adding either vases or floor speakers on the left and right side of the media console.

Comentarios (33)

• ckar8
    hace 8 años
    I think the size is perfect. you never want a "floating" rug. perhaps pulling it fwd and trying it with the console on it a bit? that may help anchor it more.
    Edwin L agradeció a ckar8
  • C F
    hace 8 años

Definitely not too big. I agree with coralkar8-- see how it looks if you have just a few inches under each piece of furniture. I think you need a chair somewhere... perhaps angled away from media console towards the sofa? I would not put anything on either side of media console. Speakers are just unattractive and you have no need to clutter that space up with vases.

Edwin L agradeció a C F
  • Andrea Jefferson
    hace 8 años
    I love your sofa and the rug looks great!
    Edwin L agradeció a Andrea Jefferson
  • Crystal Walker
    hace 8 años

I think its the perfect size. I agree with everyone above try moving your console on it a bit.

Edwin L agradeció a Crystal Walker
  • shirlpp
    hace 8 años
    Última modificación: hace 8 años

Yes, your instincts are correct, that rug is too big. The furniture should sit on the rug, however, there should be some space between the rug and your console. I think that the 6x9 would be perfect.

Lincoln Park Master Suite · Más información

Edwin L agradeció a shirlpp
  • susan2494
    hace 8 años

Edwin L agradeció a susan2494
  • groveraxle
    hace 8 años