Houzz Logo Print
dancingal

Help choosing a fast-growing shade tree...

dancingal
hace 9 años

Hi there! I am a newbie when it comes to all things gardening, as most of my adult life has been spent in highly urban settings. But we have recently purchased a home with a decent sized yard, in an old neighborhood with an abundance of 50-60 year old trees. While our backyard is shaded by a mix of conifers and a lovely old beech tree, the front yard is completely bare... and since it is a south-facing exposure, the summer sun beating down on our front yard and porch is scorching. I would like to plant a shade tree, but I am totally overwhelmed by the choices!

Here are the things I would like to achieve:

1. Relatively fast growing. Obviously, we would like to enjoy some shade as soon as possible, and since all of the other homes on the street have mature trees I would like something that will match the surroundings in a relatively short amount of time. (I do realize that regardless of which species we choose, it'll take years)

2. Low maintenance. With two young children, an old house to fix up, and a big learning curve on all things gardening... well, simpler would be better.

3. Fall color would be nice. We recently moved to Ohio (zone 6a) and I am suddenly having a love affair with autumn leaves. Yes, I even enjoyed raking... although the charm of that may wear off eventually :) I'd love to have a beautiful shot of red/orange/yellow lighting up my front yard!

4. A generally hearty, healthy species of tree. Hopefully one with a root system that won't uproot the sidewalk/driveway and leave the yard gnarled and grassless.

Ok, does such a tree exist? Any help would be very, very appreciated! Thanks in advance...

Comentarios (27)

• tlbean2004
    hace 9 años

The Water oak if the fastest growing oak getting 3-4 feet a year.

It will have a rounded canopy but it will get large. Mine is 60 feet tall by 60 feet wide.