Houzz Logo Print
zeldastar04

Suggestions for front landscape?

zeldastar04
hace 5 años

Hi all,

This is our house. We ripped out all the overgrown evergreens that were covering the windows. Let in the light!!! :) Stumps and rhododendrons will be removed shortly....

Here are my awesome MS paint skills, with my initial thoughts on what to put in front. Hydrangeas near the steps, roses in the middle, and cypress on the ends. Salvia on the right end, and yuki cherry blossoms for some ground cover. Please (kindly and gently, I AM NOT A PRO) critique my plan, thank you. :)

The bed on the left side gets partial sun, the bed on the right is full sun. We have problems with deer consuming everything (!!!) so plants need to be deer resistant. We are in zone 7b? I think. Eastern Massachusetts, but not on the cape.

I am planning to replace those undersized builder grade light fixtures...

Also, in our longer term plan (next two years or so), we need to address the brick steps (railings are loose) and a new front door, but need to save up some budget for that, so if you have suggestions for the future, I am happy to hear them. :)

Thanks.

Comentarios (19)

• mnmamax3
    hace 5 años

Can you take a picture farther back? Do you have any islands or trees in the yard? Initially I would suggest a small tree on the far left side to bring the landscaping away from the house a bit. We lived in southern NH and a Kousa dogwood worked well for us (it only grows about 20' tall.

• zeldastar04
    Autor original
    hace 5 años
    Última modificación: hace 5 años

I'm at work right now, but I'll take pics from further back when I get home later :) Nothing else in the lawn. But there are large trees on the left side of the house. Now you've got me thinking....

• apple_pie_order
    hace 5 años